# WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean ORGANISATION MONDIALE DE LA SANTE Bureau régional de la Mediterranee orientale





REGIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN

EM/RC45/16 May 1998

Forty-fifth Session

Original: Arabic

Agenda item 16(b)

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER STATE TO THE JOINT COORDINATING BOARD OF THE SPECIAL PROGRAMME FOR RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TROPICAL DISEASES

#### EM/RC45/16 page 1

## 1. Composition of the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases

The Joint Coordinating Board of the UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) consists of 30 members drawn from among the cooperating parties as follows:

- twelve government representatives selected by contributors to the resources of the Special Programme;
- twelve government representatives selected by WHO's regional committees from among those countries directly affected by the diseases dealt with by the Special Programme, or from among those providing technical or scientific support to the Special Programme. The Governments of the Islamic Republic of Iran and the United Arab Emirates are the current members selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean, serving on the Joint Coordinating Board (Islamic Republic of Iran until 31 December 1998 and United Arab Emirates until 31 December 2000);
- three members designated by the JCB itself from among the remaining cooperating parties;
- the three agencies that comprise the Standing Committee (i.e. UNDP, World Bank and WHO).

#### 2. Observer status on the Joint Coordinating Board

Other cooperating parties may, on request, be represented as observers, upon approval by the Joint Coordinating Board. Eastern Mediterranean Region Member States who have observer status are: Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia and Republic of Yemen.

## 3. Member States selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the Joint Coordinating Board

The following Member States were previously selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the Joint Coordinating Board:

Egypt	1978-1979 (2 years)
Pakistan	1978-1980 (3 years)
Iraq	1980-1982 (3 years)
Yemen Arab Republic	1984-1985 (2 years)
Sudan	1984-1986 (3 years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1986-1988 (3 years)
Morocco	1987-1989 (3 years)
Somalia	1989-1991 (3 years)
Republic of Yemen	1990-1992 (3 years)
Egypt	1992-1994 (3 years)
Saudi Arabia	1993-1995 (3 years)
Tunisia	1995-1997 (3 years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1996-1998 (3 years)
United Arab Emirates	1998-2000 (3 years)

### EM/RC45/16 page 2

As of 1 January 1999, there will be one vacancy from the Eastern Mediterranean Region to replace the Islamic Republic of Iran, whose term will end on 31 December 1998. The Regional Committee is requested to nominate one Member State to serve on the Joint Coordinating Board for a three-year period, 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2001.