## WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean ORGANISATION MONDIALE DE LA SANTE Bureau regional de la Méditerranée orientale



مُنطَّرُ الصَّحَرُ الغَّالِيَّرِيَّ استبادت المتادي لشرق البَحد المتوسّط

REGIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN

Forty-second Session

Agenda item 9(b)

EM/RC42/10 April 1995

Original: Arabic

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER STATE TO THE JOINT COORDINATING BOARD OF THE SPECIAL PROGRAMME FOR RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TROPICAL DISEASES

### Composition of the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases

The Joint Coordinating Board (JCB) of the UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) consists of 30 members drawn from among the cooperating parties as follows:

- twelve government representatives selected by contributors to the resources of the Special Programme;
- twelve government representatives selected by WHO's regional committees from among those countries directly affected by the diseases dealt with by the Special Programme, or from among those providing technical or scientific support to the Special Programme. The Governments of Saudi Arabia and Tunisia are the current members selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean, serving on the JCB (Saudi Arabia until 31 December 1995 and Tunisia until 31 December 1997);
- three members designated by the JCB itself from among the remaining cooperating parties;
- the three agencies that comprise the Standing Committee (i.e. UNDP, World Bank and WHO).

#### 2. Observer status on the JCB

Other cooperating parties may, on request, be represented as observers, upon approval by the JCB. EMR Member States who have observer status are: Islamic kepublic of Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Pakistan, Sudan and the Syrian Arab Republic.

# Member States selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB

The following Member States were previously selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB:

Egypt	1978-1979	_
Pakistan	1978-1980	
Iraq	1980-1982	(3 years)
Republic of Yemen	1984-1985	(2 years)
Sudan	1984-1986	(3 years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1906 1988	(3 years)
Morocco	1987-1989	(3 years)
Somalia	1989-1991	(3 years)
Republic of Yemen	1990-1992	(3 years)
Egypt	1992-1994	(3 years)
Saudi Arabia	1993-1995	(3 years)
Tunisia	1995-1997	(3 years)

#### EM/RC42/10 page 2

As of 1 January 1996, there will be one vacancy from the Eastern Mediterranean Region to replace Saudi Arabia, whose term will end on 31 December 1995. The Regional Committee is requested to nominate one Member State to serve on the JCB for a three-year period, 1 January 1996 to 31 December 1998.