Regional Office Regional Office Section Boditerranean REARISATION MONDIALE DE LA SANTE REGIONAL de la Méditerranée orientale



المَّحَدِّ الْحَجَّ الْحَجَّ الْمَلِيدِيُ الْحَجَّ الْمَلِيدِينَ الْمَحَدِّ الْمِلْوسِطِ الْمَدُوسِطِ الْمَدُوسِطِ

RECIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN

EM/RC41/14 April 1994

Forty-first Session

Original: Arabic

Agenda item 16

NOMINATION OF A HEMBER STATE TO THE JOINT COORDINATING BOARD OF THE SPECIAL PROGRAMME FOR RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TROPICAL DISEASES

1. <u>Composition of the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme</u> <u>for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases</u>

The Joint Coordinating Board (JCB) of the UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) consists of 30 members drawn from among the cooperating parties as follows:

- twelve government representatives selected by contributors to the resources of the Special Programme;
- twelve government representatives selected by WHO's regional committees from among those countries directly affected by the diseases dealt with by the Special Programme, or from among those providing technical or scientific support to the Special Programme. The Governments of Egypt and Saudi Arabia are the current members selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean, serving on the JCB (Egypt until 31 December 1994 and Saudi Arabia until 31 December 1995);
- three members designated by the JCB itself from among the remaining cooperating parties;
- the three agencies that comprise the Standing Committee (UNDP, World Bank and WHO).

2. Observer Status on the JCB

Other cooperating parties may, on request, be represented as observers, upon approval by the JCB. EMR Member States who have observer status are: Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Pakistan, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic and Tunisia.

3. <u>Mcmber States selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB</u>

The following Member States were previously selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB:

Egypt Pakistan	1978-1979 1978-1980	•	
Iraq	1980-1982	(3	years)
Yemen	1984-1985	(2	years)
sudan	1984-1986	(3	years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1986-1988	(3	years)
Morocco	1987-1989	(3	years)
Somalia	1989-1991	(3	years)
Republic of Yemen	1990-1992	(3	years)
Egypt	1992-1994	(3	years)
Saudi Arabia	1993-1995	(3	years)

EM/RC41/14 page 2

As of 1 January 1995, there will be one vacancy from the Eastern Mediterranean Region to replace Egypt, whose term will end on 31 December, 1994. The Regional Committee is requested to nominate one Member State to serve on the JCB for a three-year period, 1 January 1995 to 31 December 1997.

The following countries with TDR targeted diseases have not had the opportunity for membership in the JCB, listed in alphabetical order:

Djibouti Oman Tunisia