WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean ORGANISATION MONDIALE DE LA SANTE Bureau regional de la Mediterraneo orientale



مُنظَّرُ الصَّحَدِ الخَالِكِ الْمَلِيدِي الكَبْ لِاسْسِي لَشَدِق البَحِد المُتوسِّط

REGIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN

Thirty-ninth Session

Agenda item 14

EM/RC39/12 Original: ENGLISH

April 1992

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER STATE TO
THE JOINT COORDINATING BOARD OF THE SPECIAL
PROGRAMME FOR RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TROPICAL DISEASES

EM/RC39/12 page 1

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER STATE TO THE JOINT COORDINATING BOARD OF THE SPECIAL PROGRAMME FOR RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TROPICAL DISEASES

(Agenda item 14)

1. Composition of the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases

The Joint Coordinating Board (JCB) of the UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) consists of 30 members drawn from among the cooperating parties as follows:

- twelve government representatives selected by contributors to the resources of the Special Programme;
- twelve government representatives selected by WHO's regional committees from among those countries directly affected by the diseases dealt with by the Special Programme, or from among those providing technical or scientific support to the Special Programme. The Republic of Yemen (until 31 December 1992) and Egypt (until 31 December 1994) are the two current members selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean, serving on the JCB;
- three members designated by the JCB itself from among the remaining cooperating parties;
- the three agencies that comprise the Standing Committee (i.e., UNDP, World Bank and WHO).

The members of the JCB generally serve for a period of three years and may be reappointed.

2. Observer Status on the JCB

Other cooperating parties may, on request, be represented as observers, upon approval by the JCB. EMR Member States who currently have observer status are: the Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Pakistan, Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic and Tunisia.

3. Member States Selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB

The following Member States were previously selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the JCB:

Egypt 1978-1979 (2 years)
Pakistan 1978-1980 (3 years)
Iraq 1980-1982 (3 years)
Yemen 1984-1985 (2 years)

EM/RC39/12 page 2

Sudan Islamic Republic of Iran Morocco Somalia Republic of Yemen Egypt	1984-1986 (3 years) 1986-1988 (3 years) 1987-1989 (3 years) 1989-1991 (3 years) 1990-1992 (3 years) 1992-1994 (3 years)
--	--

As from 1 January 1993, there will be one vacancy from the Eastern Mediterranean Region to replace the Republic of Yemen, whose term will end on 31 December 1992. The Regional Committee is requested to nominate one Member State to serve on the JCB for a three-year period (1993-1995).