

REGIONAL OFFICE FOR THE **Eastern Mediterranean** Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean Sixty-fifth session Provisional agenda item 6

EM/RC65/13 August 2018

Nomination of a Member State to the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Disease

Composition of the Joint Coordinating Board of the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases

1. The Joint Coordinating Board of the UNICEF/UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) consists of 28 members drawn from among the cooperating parties as follows:

- twelve government representatives selected by contributors to the resources of the Special Programme;
- six government representatives selected by WHO regional committees from among those countries directly affected by the diseases dealt with by the Special Programme, or from among those providing technical or scientific support to the Special Programme;
- six members designated by the Joint Coordinating Board itself from among the remaining cooperating parties;
- the four agencies that comprise the Standing Committee (UNICEF, UNDP, World Bank and WHO).

2. Members of the Joint Coordinating Board (JCB) serve for a period of four years and may be reappointed.

3. From the Eastern Mediterranean Region, Afghanistan (under paragraph 2.2.2 of the Memorandum of Understanding: governments selected by WHO regional committees) is currently a member of the Board. The term of office of Afghanistan will expire on 31 December 2018.

4. The Regional Office invited Member States to apply to vacancies that exist under paragraph 2.2.3 of the Memorandum of Understanding (members selected by the JCB itself). From the Region, no governments applied for selection to JCB membership from 2019.

Observer status on the Joint Coordinating Board

5. Other cooperating parties may, on request, be represented as observers, upon approval by the JCB. Member States of the Eastern Mediterranean Region who have observer status and are not currently members are: Djibouti, Egypt, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Member States selected by the Regional Committee

6. The following Member States were previously selected by the Regional Committee for the Eastern Mediterranean to the Joint Coordinating Board:

Egypt	1978 – 1979 (2 years)
Pakistan	1978 – 1980 (3 years)
Iraq	1980 – 1982 (3 years)
Yemen Arab Republic	1984 – 1985 (2 years)
Sudan	1984 – 1986 (3 years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1986 – 1988 (3 years)
Morocco	1987 – 1989 (3 years)
Somalia	1989 – 1991 (3 years)
Republic of Yemen	1990 – 1992 (3 years)

Egypt	1992 – 1994 (3 years)
Saudi Arabia	1993 – 1995 (3 years)
Tunisia	1995 – 1997 (3 years)
Islamic Republic of Iran	1996 – 1998 (3 years)
United Arab Emirates	1998 – 2000 (3 years)
Oman	1999 – 2001 (3 years)
Saudi Arabia	2001 – 2003 (3 years)
Kuwait	2002 – 2004 (3 years)
Bahrain	2004 – 2006 (3 years)
Syrian Arab Republic	2007 – 2009 (3 years)
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	2008 – 2010 (3 years)
Iraq	2010 – 2013 (4 years)
Djibouti	2011 – 2014 (4 years)
Afghanistan	2011 - 2014 (4 years) 2014 - 2018 (4 years)

7. As of 1 January 2019, there will be one vacancy from the Eastern Mediterranean Region to replace Afghanistan, whose term of office will end on 31 December 2018. This vacancy exists under paragraph 2.2.2 of the Memorandum of Understanding (Members selected by the WHO regional committees). The Regional Office invited the Member States to apply for this vacancy. The following Member State applied:

• Egypt

8. The Regional Committee is requested to nominate one Member State to serve on the Joint Coordinating Board for a four-year period, 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2022.